Seth Godin’s Stop Stealing Dreams manifesto

It is absolutely pouring with rain here in Canberra. We have had about 18mm in the past hour and for a summer’s day, it’s cold! But I don’t mind, today I downloaded Seth Godin’s Stop Stealing Dreams, and over a couple of glasses of red wine this evening I am going to devour every word of his 30,000 manifesto.


I’ve already read the first few sections and I am hooked! Section 5 really grabbed my attention:

and from what I have scanned his argument about traditional schooling being based on obedience and control captures what what we have been struggling with for the past 2 decades (at least), especially now we are living in a digitally driven, socially networked world… the ways we live and work are constantly changing, however many schools have not even shifted beyond first gear in terms of technology provision and networked access to online information and services. Not to mention a school curriculum based on critical and creative inquiry, collaborative learning, transliteracy, digital citizenship, personal learning environments, mobile learning, 3D virtual worlds as authentic learning environments, just to name a few.

Sections of Godin’s manifesto can easily be used to support professional learning activities. I can’t wait to see some of Seth’s ideas being discussed in tweet streams of edu hashtags such as #edchat and #tlchat in the near future!

I’d be interested to hear from others how Seth’s manifesto is being used to support professional learning in their school, district or PLN.

2 responses to “Seth Godin’s Stop Stealing Dreams manifesto

  1. I will be reading this. I have a favourite clip from Ted, that of Sir Ken Robinson and it was on the Link. This TED Talk always makes me cringe when I think how many of our schools educate in these times. Teaching for the tests. Goes against my values. Thanks for bringing Seth Godin’s book to my mind. Educate the whole child!

  2. Hi Lyndall, if you are interested in joining a discussion about Seth Godin’s manifesto a Facebook Group has been established to host this discussion. Go to http://www.facebook.com/groups/StopStealingDreams/ and click on the Join request button. Cheers, Lyn

Leave a Reply

