PBL supports development of 21C skills

This recently released School News Special Report (January 2009) on project-based learning (PBL) demonstrates how PBL can help students develop such 21st-century skills as “problem solving, critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity”. Executive Director of the Buck Institute, John Mergendoller highlights the authentic learning principles underpinning PBL which:

…engages students’ interest and motivates them to learn. One of the main reasons kids drop out of school is because they’re bored. With project-based learning, students are encouraged to explore their own interests and to make connections to the world beyond school.

The report also identifies how technology is becoming more integral to PBL as well as the development of students’ information skills. I recommend students read this report while exploring the concepts of resource-based learning, inquiry learning  and information literacy (Topic 4) in ETL401. Feel free to add your views here on the value of PBL in developing students’  21st century.

3 responses to “PBL supports development of 21C skills

  1. I am thoroughly enjoying having easy access to these articles on Librarians and Teacher Librarians. There is an exciting undercurrent about our field today. The article on “Hipper Shushers”, relating to the change in public perception of librarians is very positive. I remember being shocked when I began my studies in librarianship 20 years again, with the childhood image of librarians being “shushers” and “grey”. Instead it was the beginning of computers in libraries, OPAC and CDROM’s. Exciting then, now with more emphasis on communication, collaboration, creativity, critical thinking and hands-on skills, I think we will definitely reach out to more kids.

  2. I like the adaptive curriculum idea and how project based learning can help to develp problem solving skills and teach collaboration and team work.

  3. I think I may have found the report I need to do my EER500 assignment! This is great stuff. I’d love to have this working in my grade 4/5 class. Cheers, Jen.

Leave a Reply

